You are logged in as customer LOG OUT

About the DAT Test

Pearson's Differential Aptitude Tests for Personnel and Career Assessment, more commonly known as the DAT for PCA, are a series of tests designed to measure one's abilities in different fields, such as verbal reasoning, numerical reasoning, mechanical reasoning, and space relations. These tests are used by employers to assess their future employees' abilities, and consequently decide which ones are competent and suitable for their offered positions.

Take note that Pearson Assessments offers two kinds of DAT tests: the DAT for PCA, and the DAT 5.

Format and Content

The DAT tests can be administered online, or in a paper-and-pencil format. All of the DAT tests consist exclusively of multiple-choice questions. The tests are all timed, and range from 12 to 25 minutes each. Each DAT assessment can be used individually, while all of the assessments can be administered as a battery.
Before you begin preparing for your DATs, make sure you know which tests you're required to take!

Test Purpose Max Time # of Quest
Verbal Reasoning Designed to test one's thinking skills and cognitive ability, in the shape of verbal analogies. 20 min 30
Numerical Ability Designed to assess one's ability to comprehend and deal with number-related concepts, as well as his understanding of numerical relationships. 20 min 25
Abstract Reasoning Designed to test one's reasoning abilities via a non-verbal method, it assesses logical thinking and pattern understanding abilities. 15 min 30
Mechanical Reasoning Similar to the Bennett Mechanical Comprehension Test, it measures one's ability to comprehend the elementary principles of mechanical tools, machinery, movement, etc. 20 min 45
Space Relations Designed to estimate one's ability to envision 3-D objects from given 2-D images. 15 min 35
Language Usage Tests one's language skills, particularly correct use of capitalization and punctuation, and the ability to identify grammatical mistakes. 12 min 30

DAT Scoring and Results

Each DAT test has a separate result, which is translated into a percentile rank. In addition to that, each test has its own norm groups. That means that the candidate is NOT assessed in comparison to the entire population, but to his own norm group: people who are in the same "category" as him, according to the test supplier.

Norm groups include categories such as: Hourly/Entry-Level, Managers, Supervisors, 12th Grade Students, Individual Contributors – Bachelor’s Degree or Higher, Skilled Tradespersons, Individual Contributors – Non-degreed, Blue Collar, and more.

I Heard That the DAT Is Being Cancelled. Is That True?

Pearson Assessments have two separate, yet very similar, tests, commonly known as DAT – the DAT 5, and the DAT for PCA. The DAT 5 includes all six tests of the DAT for PCA, along with two additional tests – a spelling test and a clerical accuracy tests.

The DAT 5 will indeed be annulled at the end of 2014. However, the DAT for PCA will remain available. This means that as of 2015, only the DAT for PCA's six subtests will be given as part of the assessment.

DAT Test Practice-Prepare to Succeed

JobTestPrep will soon be offering a DAT practice pack, which will include full DAT practice tests, questions, answers, and detailed explanations to help you get the best preparation for your DAT test.

Pearson, Differential Aptitude Tests (DAT) and other trademarks are the property of their respective trademark holders. None of the trademark holders are affiliated with JobTestPrep